Today, Ny Kirstineberg Manor is run by Maria Hvid and Martin Kronborg and our five children. We are living out our common adventure every day when we open our eyes, and we are delighted to share this unique experience with our guests.
Our passion for bringing people together, interior design and handicrafts, plenty of space and surrounded by wonderful nature, all combine to form a unique synthesis that we think you can feel here at Ny Kirstineberg Manor.
Maria has many years’ experience in the retail industry in the area of interior design and handicrafts, and she has a keen sense of good service. She is also a firebrand who is passionate about creating a good ambiance and doing it with style. The key words are soul, mood and attentiveness.
Martin has more than 15 years’ experience in event management, team building, meetings and conferences and today he owns the event agency Funky Business. Martin is also a creative firebrand, with a pragmatic and positive approach to the opportunities that life presents. He loves meeting people and creating unique moments that make a difference.
The history of Ny Kirstineberg Manor
All land owned by the monarchy on Falster was sold in 1766. This occurred by auction on 9 September 1766. The royal estate on Falster was divided into 10 main estates that were sold at the auction.
Estate 7 consisted of Klodskov with its tenant farms. The total area was defined according to the old Danish unit of land measurement as 522 “tønder hartkorn” [lit.: barrels of hard corn]. The estate consisted of Klodskov with its tenant farms in Ønslev, Tingsted, Stadager and Brarup parishes. The estate was purchased by Peter Thestrup, whose friend Hans Tersling later became co-owner. Hence the name, Vennerslund (lit.: Friends’ Grove). The total cost was 59,724 rix-dollars. Ny Kirstineberg is today located on some of the land that used to belong to Vennerslund.
Originally, the land was zoned by Klodskov, which was located in Ønslev parish, but in the summer of 1767, the new owners obtained permission from the king to move the manor taxation to Stadager town and restore the abandoned Stadager Manor.
The new owners had to build a manor house from the ground up. The materials were purchased in Nykøbing, and they mostly came from Nykøbing Castle, which was being demolished.
Hans Tersling and Peter Thestrup had many problems with their peasants. The lands of Vennerslund extended from Kraghave in the south to Guldborg in the north. The farmers in Kraghave were unhappy with the fact that they had such a long way to perform their compulsory villein service at Vennerslund. To remedy this, a new manor was built at Kraghave in 1773. The land was taken from a couple of abandoned farms and from the remaining farms. Land was also added to the new main manor from Vennerslund and Vestensborg. The new manor was named Kirstineberg after Hans Tersling’s wife, Kirstine, née Hofgaard. The buildings were constructed of materials obtained from Nykøbing Castle.
The owner of Vestensborg, August Johan Christoffer von Westen, died in 1774 and his sons sold Vestensborg in 1777 to Hans Tersling and Peter Thestrup on Vennerslund, and Christian Hincheldey on Orupgård.
Hans Tersling died in 1785 and his wife Kirstine Hofgaard took over his part of Vennerslund and of Vestensborg. In 1789, Hans Tersling’s widow, Kirstine Hofgaard, and Christian Hincheldey of Orupgård, conveyed their 2/3 of Vestensborg to Peter Thestrup, who thus became the sole owner of Vestensborg. At the same time, Peter Thestrup transferred his half of Vennerslund to Kirstine Hofgaard, who thus became the sole owner of Vennerslund.
In the autumn of 1789, Kirstine Hofgaard married “konferenceråd” [obsolete Danish title, off. trans. “Councellor of Conference”, similar to Privy Councillor] Jacob Edward Colbjørnsen. In 1790, the marriage contract between Kirstine Hofgaard and J.E. Colbjørnsen stipulated that, upon her death, her farms Vennerslund and Kirstineberg should be transferred to her son from her first marriage, Jørgen Tersling, while her other farm Kirstineberg should remain in the Colbjørnsen family.
After the deaths of J.E. Colbjørnsen and Kirstine Hofgaard in 1802, the marriage contract meant that Vennerslund was transferred to Jørgen Tersling and Kirstineberg was transferred to Master of the Royal Hunt H. Christian Colbjørnsen. The size of Kirstineberg was increased through the abandonment of tenant farms and the clearing of woods.
In 1845, H. Christian Colbjørnsen sold Kirstineberg to Master of Arts A. P. Estrup. He also wanted more land to cultivate. He established the estate of Pandebjerg by combining pasture and land from a forest supervisor residence.
When P. Estrup died in 1848, his farms on Falster were inherited by his brother J.B.S. Estrup, who later became a politician and president of the council of ministers. J.B.S. Estrup already owned the estates Kongsdal and Skaføgård, and he therefore preferred not to keep his newly acquired estates on Falster. He therefore sold them in 1851 to Counsellor F. Ø. Hillerup.
F. Ø. Hillerup divided Kirstineberg, as the southern and western part of the land had been parcelled out and placed under a new tenant farm called Ny Kirstineberg. The original Kirstineberg then became known as Gammel (Old) Kirstineberg.
In 1854, Counsellor F. Ø. Hillerup sold Pandebjerg to H. Wilhjelm, who owned the farm until 1872. In 1872 it was sold to tenant farmer Petersen, Gyllingnæs. In 1876 it was sold to Edward Tesdorpf, Orupgård. Pandebjerg was then inherited by Adolpf Tesdorpf, whose family still owns Pandebjerg. F. Ø. Hillerup died 1863.
Ny Kirstineberg only became an independent manor in 1863, when F. Ø. Hillerup’s two sons, Victor and S.C. Hillerup, each took over a part of Kirstineberg. Victor Hillerup took over Gammel Kirstineberg. It remained in the family’s ownership until 2002.
Ny Kirstineberg was taken over by Marine Lieutenant S.C. Hillerup. S.C. Hillerup built a new main building in 1878 that was designed by the renowned architect August Henning Klein.
When he died in 1908, the heirs sold the manor to Master of the Royal Hunt Adolpf Tesdorpf, Pandebjerg. Ny Kirstineberg became the centre of administration for Adolpf Tesdorpf’s many estates. He owned 6 estates on Falster. In 1925 he also purchased Gjorslev on Stevns. Adolpf Tesdorpf died in 1929, and his wife Agnes Tesdorpf took over the management of his properties, including Ny Kirstineberg and Pandebjerg.
Agnes Tesdorpf ran the estates until the 1940s, when she handed them to her and Adolpf Tesdorpf’s son, Axel Valdemar Tesdorpf. Axel Valdemar Tesdorpf died in 1963, and the estates Ny Kirstineberg and Pandebjerg were transferred to his daughter, Anne Dorothea Tesdorpf, who married Ivar Castenschiold in 1973. In 2002, she handed over part of the estates to her and Ivar Castenschiold’s son, Axel Christian Tesdorpf Castenschiold. Axel Tesdorpf Castenschiold took full possession of both Ny Kirstineberg and Pandebjerg in 2007.
The main building and the stable buildings on Ny Kirstineberg were built in 1876. The buildings were designed by the renowned architect August Klein. The main building is built with frontispices and attics.
August Klein was born in Copenhagen in 1839. He obtained a polytechnic degree, trained as an engineer and carpenter (1858) and studied architecture at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture, from October 1858, but he never managed to complete the education because he simultaneously worked as a technical drawer for some of the leading architects of the time, M.G. Bindesbøll and Ferdinand Meldahl. The latter consisted amongst other things of a project in 1862-65 as clerk of works for Frederiksborg castle’s reconstruction after it was destroyed by fire in 1859. In the midst of this work, he participated as a private soldier in the war of 1864.
August Klein belonged to the school of historicism, which was at the height of fashion on the country estates at the peak of his career in the final decades of the 1800s, and he designed numerous new and reconstructed main buildings and other buildings on manor estates around Denmark. In addition to designing Ny Kirstineberg, he also designed the new main building at Klintholm on Møn (1875-76).
He was a highly regarded architect who, among other things, exhibited at Charlottenborg’s Spring Exhibition in 1870. He sought inspiration for his work by taking study tours to London, Stockholm, Paris, Germany and Switzerland. He died in 1909.